As mentioned in the article “Rework Best Practices”, there are two ways to set how Autodesk Prodsmart models rework on the tablet: the "flexible" and "restrictive" approach. There are two differences between them, which can be seen below.
Insert Production button
Quantities to be reworked are added as quantities to be produced on previous operations
Quantities to be produced are not changed
All operations are visible, and the quantities to be produced are the same as the ones displayed via “Insert Production.”
Only the operations with quantities to be reworked are displayed.
A practical example to understand these differences is explained below. Let’s trace back to the scenario described in the “Rework Best Practices” article:
A production order for 50 units of Chocolate Cake was created,
The product goes through 3 operations: MIXING, BAKING, and PACKING,
50 OK units were produced during MIXING,
30 OK units were produced, and 20 NOK units were produced during BAKING. Out of these 20 NOK units, 15 are recoverable, and five are not recoverable.
Insert production button
There are 15 units to go on the MIXING operation, which represent the 15 recoverable units. The total quantity to be produced is now 65 (50+15).
On the BAKING and PACKING operations, there are no changes.
When viewed through the rework button, the quantities are not changed compared to the “Insert Production button”. As you can see below, the amounts are the same as above.
Insert Production button
Compared to the flexible approach, there are no changes in the quantities to be made on the previous operations, as those are not supposed to be regular production. The tablet says that the total amount for MIXING has been produced. Therefore, if the workers need to perform rework, the system forces the rework button to be used.
The quantities to be reworked match the recoverable amount of waste produced. Since 15 recoverable NOK units were produced during BAKING, the tablet displays those 15 units to be produced for MIXING (the initial operation) and BAKING (the operation in which the recoverable waste was recorded).
Pro tip: It’s also possible to set some advanced options between regular production and rework. You can set checklists, labels, and work instructions to be active only via Insert Production, only via Rework, or for both buttons.
Now that you have the insight into Autodesk Prodsmart’s capabilities, you can understand and discuss with your account manager what’s the best approach for you.
Need help? Request a Prodsmart expert to contact you here.